|RAF Bracebridge Heath|
Updated: 17 Jan 2013
Opened: <= 1919
Unit based here:
121 Sqn :: 14 Oct 1918
4 AAP :: 1919 - 1920
The RFC aerodrome at Bracebridge Heath was originally opened in 1916 by Lincoln-based aircraft manufacturer Robey for the manufacture and flight testing of their Sopwith aircraft. This was taken over by the RFC within two years to become RFC Bracebridge Heath.
The site was under construction on 1 Apr 1918 as an Aircraft Acceptance Park, to replace Lincoln (West Common).
121 Sqn reformed here after a brief existence (1 Jan - 17 Aug 1918) at RAF Narborough.
From 1919 until 1920 it was home for 4 Air Acceptance Park (4 AAP).
During WWII, the Repair Organisation managed by A V Roe and Co Ltd at Bracebridge Heath recovered large numbers of damaged Avro Lancasters, which would otherwise have been scrapped, and returned them to service; this made a major contribution to the bomber offensive against Germany.
The Triple Aircraft Hanger which was located here, being of unique interest (a Belfast truss hangar?), was Grade II listed. Despite this it was demolished in 2001.
After WWII Bracebridge Heath continued its aviation connections as a factory for A V Roe. It was here that the 2 Avro 707 test aircraft were constructed, before being towed down the A15 to Waddington for their maiden test fligts. The Acro 707 were research aircraft for delta wing flight which culminated in the production of the Vulcan bomber.